PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade Carb to inj??

jaret1981
04-22-2009, 11:37 PM
I am new to the turbo buick thing so sorry to start off with, I might have some dumb questions.
I just bought a 79 Turbo Regal and I am wanting to upgrade it to SFI. I am wondering if the intake of a 86 would bolt up? Would I need to switch heads also? Any other info would be great.

kenmosher
04-23-2009, 10:09 AM
Everything will bolt up, but it's the electrical and fuel system that will be the challenge.

Mechanical:
- Turbo
- Headers
- Intake manifold
- Throttle Body
- Plumbing
- Intercooler
- Wastegate actuator
- Downpipe
- Exhaust
- Headers/exhaust manifolds
- Fuel pump
- Fuel lines
- Injectors
- Fuel rails
- Regulator

Electrical
- Ignition system (assuming you do DIS)
- Cam Sensor
- Crank Sensor
- IAC
- TPS
- Boost solenoid
- Fuel relays
- ECM
- MAF
- Ignition module
- etc.

81 elky
04-23-2009, 08:00 PM
Careful Ken, you might discourage him.

jaret1981
04-23-2009, 10:59 PM
Thank you Ken that really helps. Yeah I figured the fuel and electrical would be my big problem. I have found a wiring harness, so I think that should help some.

kenmosher
04-24-2009, 09:32 AM
The wiring harness will help a TON ...

However, make no mistake, it's still going to be a big project.

jaret1981
04-24-2009, 01:06 PM
Yeah I know it is going to be a big project, now I have noticed that the newer blocks had better oil passages. Do you think the bottom end will hold up or should I re due the whole bottom end?

kenmosher
04-24-2009, 01:21 PM
Well, at that point ... you might be money ahead just to buy the car you want. Or find a donor car/engine/trans ...

A complete drivetrain can sometimes be found on the boards occasionally, but anything that is in decent condition is going to run ~$5K

usetaboost
05-13-2009, 07:17 AM