PDA

View Full Version : its all new to me!

Bobby Garrett
01-06-2010, 12:36 AM
I am new to the G/N T/Type scene so dont think bad of me due to my ignorance.I recently rescued an 84 G/N from a collapsed barn in TX.I have just completed its restoration and conversion of the stock engine to an 87 upper half. Quick parts list includes, all roller,stock champion ported heads & intake,All ARP fasteners,PT54,ATR gate&pipe,3"in&3"out,50lb.inj.,93chip,front mount cooler,walboro,hotwire,MAF translater,K&N,ProFlows,orange stripe brawler,B&M shift kit.Car runs strong enough to demolish a 2010 ss camaro. NOW MY QUESTION! I want to put an alky kit on her but I want some input from someone who has it.ALSO I have not had the car professionally tuned because I live in the middle of nowhere east TX. and dont think anyone around here can do it. Anybody know of a good place, please pass it on.I will go to Dallas if I have to.Should I put alky on first? Will race gas instead of 93octane do the same thing?P.S.will do 19"of boost now with no retard (yes knock sensor works).Again forgive my stupidity yall I am just a red-neck who is obsessed with a black car.

GNXTURBO6
01-06-2010, 12:49 AM
Good =is you can run lots of boost ,kill knock ,run 93 octane ,

Bad=Pump failure , keep filling Alky tank

Now Razor has a tester to make sure your pump is healthy, and you could also do the Metco spare tire fuel cell for 5 gallons of Alky . Guys will chime in here but thats the basics on it.

GNXTURBO6
01-06-2010, 12:52 AM
by the way, My setup is: Alkycontrol/Turbotweak/Methanol/93 octane. I've seen 30 psi with a TE44 & 36lb. injectors and I still have headgaskets

and it does fine :)

Bobby Garrett
01-06-2010, 12:54 AM
O.K.have a heavy foot how often do you have to fill normal tank? what happens when pump goes?does it include me swearing a lot when it happens?

GNXTURBO6
01-06-2010, 12:57 AM