PDA

View Full Version : Freeze plugs

jgines
02-22-2005, 06:30 PM
I just received a freeze plug kit today from another board member. Ive never changed any freeze plugs before. As I am new to the GNs And wanted to ask you a few questions.

The kit came with the following. 4 small and 4 big gold colored. 2 big silver ones and 2 small silver ones. then the two pieces that have threads.
What are the 2 big and 2 small silver ones for, and where do they go?

What are the threaded pieces for, and where do they go?

What are the 4 big and 4 small gold colored ones for, and Where do they go?

How do you remove the old ones?
how do you install the new ones?

If anybody out there can help please do so. Once that is done I will finally be able to drive my GN after months of just seeing it just sit in my driveway.

Everyones time and help is greatly appreciated. Thank You . :cheers:

pfredricks
02-23-2005, 03:57 PM
> What are the 2 big and 2 small silver ones for, and where do they go?

The 2 big plugs go in the back of the block.

The 2 small silver plugs go in the front of the block to plug the left and right oil galleries.

> What are the threaded pieces for, and where do they go?

These are plugs for the rear of the block, they thread into the oil galleries.

> What are the 4 big and 4 small gold colored ones for, and Where do they go?

The 4 big plugs go in the sides of the block, 2 plugs per side.

The 4 small gold plugs go in the cylinder heads, 2 plugs per head with a plug at each end of the head.

> How do you remove the old ones?

I use a blunt punch tool, set it against the outer rim inside the cup of the old plug, then give the punch a good wack with a hammer. The old plug should twist or fall completely into the water jacket. I then use pump pliers to work the old plug out. I, too, was concerned with losing the plug in the water jacket, but there's enough room there to work the plug out.