PDA

View Full Version : The good, the bad, and the leaky?

Jeff
05-11-2005, 04:37 PM
Just bought a 70,000 mile '84 GN, bone stock with the exception of the air filter. I'm having a little trouble with it though. I've seen a couple of other old hot-air posts with the same complaint, but no solution.
When I launch, everything seems fine the turbo starts to produce boost and I get impressive acceleration up to about 8lbs. of boost on the factory gauge (I hear these aren't accurate though). Then from 8-15 lbs. the acceleration just dies. Also happens when I get on it from a roll. I put my foot in it, the tranny downshifts, starts to boost and accelerate, then the boost gauge pegs into the red and performance dies. A friend mentioned the possiblity of a turbo leak somewhere, and I do hear a hissing air noise when I hear the turbo spool-up, but I'm new to these cars and don't know if that's a normal sound or not. Is this a healthy sound? Could this be a turbo or vacuum leak? If so, would that explain my problem. Or should I be looking into sensor or ignition problems. I know I need a scan tool, but while I saving up the scratch for one, I thought I'd see if anyone had any ideas.
Thanks to all for the replies.
jeff

SLOW_85
05-11-2005, 04:55 PM
Could be a leak at the turbo to intake adapter,up-pipe or a vacuum line.
The intake adapter has o-rings to seal. Chances are you have some header leaks.
Common on these cars.
If it's not missing,stumbling the ignition,maf sensor is probably ok.
I have some vacuum diagrams here:
http://www.geocities.com/gnowner85/info.html
Need to run high octane to eliminate knock.
HTH

Jeff
05-11-2005, 05:33 PM
Thanks for the info. I'm running 91 octane, it's the best I can find around here. I've also been wondering if maybe I wasn't getting some detonation as the tubo spools up, causing the computer to pull timing. Guess I'll have to wait for the scantool.