PDA

View Full Version : Blow-off or External Wastegate

george85442
05-27-2005, 09:15 AM
Hello, I'm new to turbos, so of course I have a question.

I was cruzing in my car, when i saw a nice 87 T-type, i gave the guy thumbs up, and I think he wanted to show me that it's not a V8 Regal but a turbo V6 because he build up some boost and then let it go.....there was a loud sound of pressure being released (not a whistle like imports).My recently purchased 87 Turbo Regal doesnt have that sound, so I'm wondering what it is? Blow-off valve or External Wastegate, and is there any benefit from having one, or is it just a cool sound, or necesity of large downpipe.

Thanks.

I'm happy to join this great community. :)

PaCemkr86
05-27-2005, 09:11 PM
wategate is on the exhaust side of your turbo, that controls how much boost you want " PSI"

the blow off valve , is mounted somewhere between the throttle body and the intercooler, I mounted my Tial 50 mm right before the TB.
ALthough a TR donsnt need a BOV, due to them being auto trans, and most people on here will say you dont need one.
But your car should make some sort of noise without a BOV, somewhat like a sneezing horse sound.
How much boost you running?

george85442
05-28-2005, 04:04 AM
My car is stock, so maybe 14-15 psi? Maybe there is something wrong there?
Or maybe stock air box muffles the sound? 'Cause all i hear is tumbling sound...

PaCemkr86
05-28-2005, 11:02 AM
Im sure if you get a K&N or some type of performace filter, thats open " not like the stock one".
Go rip on it and let off, then you will hear the noise you are looking for

one like this
http://www.buickgn.com/NewEngine005.jpg

george85442
05-29-2005, 08:20 AM
Perhaps I have to look in to that...

(i'm not looking to achieve that sound,
it's just that i never heard it before on a TR)

Keller
05-29-2005, 11:06 AM