PDA

View Full Version : It's Alive ......Dut run's Like Sh....t !


1badv6
08-04-2005, 04:49 PM
Had engine rebuilt and got the car running today, I installed turbo link hit red key and started it up as before with other cars its takes time for the Ecm to come alive and setup parameters , first thing up is 02 sensor code 13 and not getting no numbers from EGR sensor it show Lean Rich back on and off, I let it idel for 20mnts , and got closed loop only when rev up the engine for a few sec's, it smells like its running very rich .....now second start up and after reset ECM no codes show up until car ran for about 20 mnts and after rev it up a few times the got 13 once more, also put the car in drive and rpms go down to 600 and small backfire sound coming from the back ,,,,, need advise how to check parameter and proper tune info for start up...thanks :banghead:

PaCemkr86
08-04-2005, 05:34 PM
how did you set your cam sensor??

1badv6
08-04-2005, 05:44 PM
i set it up with casper set up tool....I just started it up again and got mild backfire at start up....now when you set up cam sensor the light turns on at both ends of the rang what I mean is if you go clockwise or if you back it up reveres do I set it up towards the begging or back up after it ends there some space from on point to the other....

Keller
08-04-2005, 06:04 PM
If you go 180 degrees out, you'll be fueling the wrong cylinder.

See http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/ecmsensors/camsensor_FAQ.html and other links at http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/ecmsensors/ecmpage.html

1badv6
08-04-2005, 06:32 PM
i think i would need to add to this i upgraded the cam the spects are as follow

206/206 Camshaft 0122
84-89 3.8 Turbo Buick-TT/A. Comp Cams 206/206. Excellent street/strip cam that gives a smooth and quite idle, makes awesome low and midrange torque over the stock cam. 106 centerline, lobe seperation 110, lobe lift @ .2835, 206 duration

Keller
08-05-2005, 11:14 AM
Doesn't matter what cam you have. If you don't set the cam sensor right, it won't run correctly. Follow the links and start reading. Or tow the car to someone who knows and get out your wallet.

kenmosher
08-05-2005, 11:58 AM
First thing, I'd replace the O2 sensor in case it is fouled in some manner ...

Secondly, does the chip you are using have the Open Loop idle mode? Might be (and they run rich at idle)....

The backfire is concerning, some suggestions:

Cam sensor 180 degrees out
Injector misfiring/stuck (check the harness next to the EGR valve for melting).
Coil pack, wires, or plug misbehaving (broken plug wire internally, not tight on the plug, intermittent coil pack misfire, etc.)
Vacuum leak around an injector, bottom of doghouse, along the intake top seal (you can find those by spraying brake cleaner CAREFULLY around the seams and joints and listen for change in idle)
Misadjusted IAC (do the IAC reset)
Bad ground(s)

PaCemkr86
08-05-2005, 12:17 PM
The backfire is concerning, some suggestions

:nono:

kenmosher
08-05-2005, 12:27 PM
:confused: HuH?Did I miss something?

PaCemkr86
08-05-2005, 07:05 PM
lol, no i was just agreeing with you :cheers:

1badv6
08-08-2005, 10:25 PM
i got it....a spark plug was loose i guess that one got away when i was torquing them in,,,, thanks guy's ....... :crackup: