PDA

View Full Version : Surging at WOT

derek
08-21-2005, 10:20 PM
Hello,
I've been studing this website and reading your comments for about 8 months. I decided to ask directly about a problem, I'm currently having. When the gas pedal is mashed to the floor, it just surges back and forth until I back off the throttle, with clouds of black smoke coming out the exhaust. Does anybody have any idea where I should start to look to solve the problem?

Keller
08-22-2005, 11:29 AM
I'm a bit curious about the buildup, mileage, and condition of the vehicle.

Do you happen to have a scan tool? (My guess is no...)

Black smoke generally indicates a rich condition.

kenmosher
08-22-2005, 12:25 PM
Hmmm ... how much boost? Octane? Any pinging?

Could be a lot of things:

Overly rich (as Scott suggests)
Too much boost, inducing extreme retard
Too much fuel pressure
Weak ignition (plugs? wires? coil pack?)
Chip calibration
I would suggest turning the boost down to around 15 psi and starting from there and noting symptoms vs RPMs vs boost (from a reliable aftermarket gauge).

Also, check fuel pressure at the rail (with vacuum line off), plugs (gapped correctly? Good condition? No cracked insulators?), wires (might just replace them as a maintenance item), and fuel filter.

PaCemkr86
08-22-2005, 07:44 PM
is it stock?? need more info

derek
08-22-2005, 11:47 PM