PDA

View Full Version : My 85 T Type Lost All Its Spark???

85T/TYPE/HYPE
08-28-2005, 03:16 PM
My Car Was Running Fine Yesterday. Today It Wont Start. Checked For Spark And Not Getting None?? Any Ideas?? Is It The Coil Pack?? I Am New To These. I Had A 79 Olds And When It Lost Spark It Was The Control ModulE. I Do Not See One On This Car??******** OKAY********* FOUND OUT WHERE THE MODULE IS AT!! CHECKED IT TO SEE IF IT WAS GETTING POWER (RED/WHITE WIRE?? GOING INTO THE MODULE) IT WAS GETTING POWER. IS THIS MY PROB THEN???

buickgn38sfi
08-30-2005, 10:31 AM
No, I would replace the crank senor and or check connection & wiring first.

85T/TYPE/HYPE
08-30-2005, 03:32 PM
I Was Told That The Crank Sensor Is Working If It Is Sending Power To The Module?? I Am Thinking Of Pulling It All Apart And Putting In Fresh Everything. Car Has 42,500 On It, And It Sat For Two Years In A Barn. I Only Paid $1,700 For It But I Am Told It Is Worth A Lot More. It Ran Fine For Me I Turned It Off And Now It Wont Start??

kenmosher
08-30-2005, 05:00 PM
Crank sensor pulses when you crank it and provides a square wave ...

I second the crank sensor diagnosis ... fairly common.

We have "No Start" trouble shooting trees here:

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/maintenance/nostart.html

85T/TYPE/HYPE
08-30-2005, 06:57 PM
Any Knowledge Of Some Good Repair Guys In The Cleveland Area That Know How To Do This Besides The Dealership Or Should I Just Stick To Gm Certified??

stevkos79
08-30-2005, 09:33 PM
did ya get it running?

where i cleveland are ya ? ohio right?

85T/TYPE/HYPE
08-31-2005, 05:04 AM
No I Did Not Get It Running. Actually I Live About 30 Miles West Of Cleveland, Ohio In Lorain. I Know There Are Alot Of Gn's And T-types Running Around Here. And Thought Maybe Someone May Know Someone In The Area Or See This From The Area.

stevkos79
08-31-2005, 06:50 AM
well im 30 miles east of cleveland in painesville

try the flow charts on gnttype for no start

ill see how the weekend is turning out ,