PDA

View Full Version : Upgrades to fuel system

imjoesnuffy
09-13-2005, 09:27 PM
I am new to the world of GNs and TTypes, but recently acquired a 1985 GN. It is stock at the moment, but I plan on improving it. From the little I have read here, everything points to improving the fuel delivery system first. Looking for recommendations on the following:

Fuel pump- Walbro 340, where can I find one and is this appropriate for the 85? Any other recommendations?

Fuel pressure regulator- Dont even know what they look like, where it goes, where to get one or how to install it.

Fuel injectors- Is it possible to get to big of a fuel injector? If so what would be the reprocussions? If it was too rich wouldnt the ecm compensate?

From some of the discussions on here, it looks like most of you guys have advanced degrees in math and I am waaaay behind the powercurve when it comes to these new fangled thingamubobs. I am used to wrenching on SB 350s, 327s and 400s. Please help me out here as I feel like the lowest common denomenator. Seems like a great forum though, thanks for any help.

onefastcar
09-13-2005, 10:10 PM
All of these sound good depends on how fast you are intending to go just bought a 255 pmp. and was told it can support 600 hp., your regulator while facing the engine is to the right of your plenum on 86-87 model and is black mine is a black bosch unit looks like a little vacuum canister, good luck but changing these things are a good idea. :bye:

kenmosher
09-14-2005, 10:54 AM
Fuel pump - the Walbro is pretty much the standard and works really well. Racetronix, Full Throttle, Cotton's, Quad Air all sell kits that will get you going. While you are in there, buy one of the "plug 'n play" Hot Wire kits from them as well. It ensures good voltage/current at the pump and bypasses a lot of the 20 year old wiring in the cars.