PDA

View Full Version : how to tune (dial in) a gn

figga8n
09-16-2005, 12:49 AM
ok im new to this gn ttype stuff. can these cars be dialed in like a old school muscle car. what i mean is how do you adjust timing or air fuel mixture. how do you get these cars to run there best

kenmosher
09-16-2005, 09:36 AM
Timing is function of the chip, so a chip change (usually from a street to a race chip) does a lot of the adjustments.

There are also chips with adjustable timing (see the Extender/Translator at Full Throttle Speed and the TurboTweak at Turbotweak.com).

A/F is basically balancing your manual boost adjustments (controlling the air) and the fuel pressure.

With a scan tool, you look for the most boost you can run while maintaining 0-1 degree of timing retard and a good A/F ratio.

PaCemkr86
09-16-2005, 02:30 PM
If you dont have a scan tool get one. Its a must for these cars.
I highly recomend it.

kenmosher
09-16-2005, 05:22 PM
If you dont have a scan tool get one. Its a must for these cars.
I highly recomend it.

:yesnod:

Another valuable tool is a wide band O2 kit and install it post turbo (in the downpipe) ... something like the Innovate or the PLX units. Pretty trick!

Keller
09-16-2005, 07:24 PM
Something tells me the WB O2 is a little much for a beginner. I haven't used one (let alone touched one), and I'm OK (so far). I think its far from a 'starting out' tool...

kenmosher
09-16-2005, 08:26 PM
I think I'd disagree ... although I've done fine without one for many years, it's amazing how much it makes the tuning process easier.

It's kind of like the "AHA"! moment when you start using a scan tool ... just that much easier to see what's going on.

Now that I've used a couple different ones (FJO, Innovate, PLX) on tuning various motors on the dyno (including my own), I highly recommend it!

PaCemkr86
09-17-2005, 02:08 PM
http://www.fullthrottlespeed.com/itemdesc~ic~3273765~eq~~Tp~.htm
Ken im thinking about gettin one of these, have you used one yet?