PDA

View Full Version : 2004R rebuild

bamiller
09-27-2005, 09:29 PM
I would like to build a 2004R trans for my 69 camaro convertible and I was wondering if you guys would help me. I am a member of the team Camaro forum and was told you guys were the ones to talk to about the 2004R. It is a mild 327 maybe 300 HP with a 3.73 posi rear axle. With the stock 14in tires highway driving is going to be to many RPMs with the turbo 400 thats in it now. I was thinking a converter maybe 500- 1000 rpm's above stock and just a slight shift kit I just want firm not hard shifts. What I would like to know is what are the problem areas and what year trans should I try to get, is one better than another? I am a GM service tech and have worked at GM dealers for 22 years some of them and currently with Buick but I don't have much experience with this Trans. I am not a Trans tech but I am sure I can handle the rebuild if I take my time. I would like to use a lockup converter also.

I just wanted to add I am a big fan of the turbo buicks, the first time I saw them race was at the supercar showdown at Quaker city dragstrip many years ago. I was amazed they were all 6 cly engines but they made them race in the big block class and they won most of the races! And I used to think there was no substitute for cubic inches!

kenmosher
09-28-2005, 12:06 PM
Lots of general 200-4R info here ...

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/transmission/transpage.html

Specific rebuild tips here ...

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/transmission/200rebld.html

When done it right, these are great transmissions for a car like you describe.

The most desirable years are the 86/87 BRF and BRQ (harder to find these valve bodies, since they were turbo Buick only). See ...

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/pictureguides/tranny/transguide.html

However, for what you are doing a Chevy Monte SS version might work OK (or an Olds Diesel). I think the Chevy is CRF?

bamiller
10-04-2005, 09:10 PM