PDA

View Full Version : fuel pump and hot wire ?

jhanson1750
01-23-2006, 10:33 PM
Well Im really new to the buick crowd and Iv got a STOCK 74k 86 "T" top GN and dont really want to do much more than around town stuff and am wondering about the fuel upgrades is this something I should worry with? :stir:

Swt_86
01-23-2006, 11:52 PM
Like your subject suggested, the fuel pumps in these cars and the wiring to them, can and will cause problems. They were only adequate when new and the 20 years between then and now didn't help. If the fuel pump doesn't deliver enough volume, your engine will lean out and you can get severe knock at higher boost levels. A Walbro 340 pump and hotwire kit are the recommended solution. Check out www.racetronix.com They have a high quality kit. If you really want to keep it stock appearing, you may be able to get by with just the pump but you will still have mid 80's GM wiring.... Good luck.

JHensberry
01-24-2006, 01:49 AM
Well, your self and the previous post are correct in the fuel pump issue. A new fuel pump, hotwire and adjustable regulator are a good first step. A scan tool, with or without using a lap top, then all your gauges, oil/water and vac/boost would be the next step. This will give you a baseline as to what is going on with the car so you can troubleshoot any problems and also have "tuning room" to grow with if you wish. Hot wire runs about 90, fuel pump around 140. But by the same token if you don't have a fuel pressure gauge or hood mounted gauge then you don't know where your fuel system stands, add that to the list, gauge and T 70. Don't mean to overwhelm a newbie but these cars can give you fits if you dont know what is going on, the scan tool, gauges can tell you so. Hope this helps, Joseph.

87geeinn
01-24-2006, 10:13 AM