PDA

View Full Version : Wastegate actuator?

dorokusai23
02-28-2006, 04:14 AM
Hey guys, I have a question about wastegate's. I have a couple of parts my pop's left when he passed on for the GN, one of them including an HKS Wastegate actuator with the piping and all. Does anyone have one in their car? I believe that he wanted this put on his car but how are they? Is it a necessity? What's it good for? Where to place it? I've seen those imports with blow off valves- are they somewhat the same thing? I'm still learning alot about this car that I didn't bother to pay much attention too when I was younger and kicking myself for it.
Would love any guidance.
Thanks. :dunno:

PaCemkr86
02-28-2006, 10:04 AM
is it a wastegate or a blow off valve? try uploading a pic, and ill see if i can help you

NOTACARLO
02-28-2006, 02:03 PM
I believe that is just an HKS external wastegate. You can use'em, but they are typically for larger turbos. Send some pics.

dorokusai23
02-28-2006, 02:50 PM
Yeah, it's an external wastegate actuator, I'll send a pic of it when I get back. Still trying to settle the score with the muffler shop today. :screwy:

dorokusai23
02-28-2006, 09:04 PM
Well I have the pic's here and I hope someone can tell me the difference and what use it can be for me. Thanks.

dorokusai23
02-28-2006, 09:07 PM
Here is another pic. I wish this was easier then posting them one by one.

dorokusai23
02-28-2006, 09:09 PM
One more pic! :ow:

PaCemkr86
03-01-2006, 12:25 AM
dude thats a bov, not a wastegate actuator

http://www.mustangmods.com/data/12933/bov1.jpg

NOTACARLO
03-01-2006, 12:41 AM
Pictures are worth....4 words. Yep, thats a BOV.

Lots of discussion on this site on whether these things belong on a TR.

I throw my vote in as :no

PaCemkr86
03-01-2006, 02:25 AM
to bov or not to bov, its really just preference..
same people like em some dont.. who cares

dorokusai23
03-01-2006, 03:51 AM