PDA

View Full Version : Octane boost

fastblackcar
07-20-2006, 09:07 PM
this is my first time to the track, i want good octane, i seen the home brew here on this site , do i mix 7 gal of 93 sunoco to 3 gal of xylene to get 10 gal of 99.5 octane fuel, anything else, trans fluid for lube ??

kenmosher
07-21-2006, 09:49 AM
Some good links (and the most important thing ... HAVE FUN!)

Fuel mixing guidelines:

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/misc/Octanemix.html

(Personally, I'd just buy some racing gas at the track ... unleaded if you can find it ... Motor octane in the 109-112 range (not RON).

Race fuel info:

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/misc/racefuel.html

Drag racing your TR ...

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/sunday.html

fastblackcar
07-21-2006, 10:10 AM
ken
i can buy airplane fuel close to home, before going to the track, they said its 100 oct, thoughts on this, my first time i would like to be prepared before i go , the track is in canada about 1 hour away, if this fuel is different i will wait and buy it there, i just thought i could empty the tank at home and put some of this in because its local
thanx again
tom

kenmosher
07-21-2006, 12:17 PM
It's different, but can be used successfully. Even "Low Lead" aviation fuel has a LOT of lead in it, so be aware.:yesnod:

Also, it's usually a bit different mix than race gas (made for higher altitude and colder temperatures), but many people use it successfully for racing a mild combination.

If you can get racing gas at the track or a speed shop (look for VP Unleaded or Sunoco GT unleaded high octane, if you can find it), that'd probably be the best bet. You aren't tuning to the edge, but looking for a good baseline and a little "safety cushion" ... once you have some experience and data, you can start tuning to the razor edge and may choose to change fuel at that point.

Again, the most important thing ... HAVE FUN and learn something about the car! :woot:

fastblackcar
07-21-2006, 03:41 PM
ken