PDA

View Full Version : buzzing/whining sound on heavy acceleration

87geeinn
11-13-2005, 09:45 PM
Hello, this is my first post, so it may be a little while before I get the hang of things on here. Here's my area of concern:

This weekend I added a new adjustable wastegate to replace the stock one (set the arm to the stock length for now); I added the RJC plate; added a fuel gauge at the rail; I replaced the stock fpr with the Kirban's billet aluminum one and set it at 42psi w/vac off as a starting point for tuning purposes. After doing this, I have noticed that under heavy acceleration I get a fairly loud buzzing/whining sound that seems to be coming from under the hood. Any ideas what this is and if I should be alarmed? I have a Scanmaster on the way so I can dig in to the numbers next week after I learn how to use it.

kenmosher
11-13-2005, 11:02 PM
Sounds like a loose intercooler hose ... check the clamps.

87geeinn
11-13-2005, 11:18 PM
Nope. Checked 'em and their tight as a tick. To be a little more descriptive as to the actual sound, it sounds as if you are blowing on a strip of paper held taught so that it produces a whining sound that increases in intensity as more fuel and air flow is added. I also forgot to mention that I cleaned my alternator with CRC brand Lectra-Motive by spraying a fair amount into the alternator. May I possibly have damaged the alternator? That cleaner is made especially for the purpose of cleaning electrical components.

87geeinn
11-14-2005, 07:29 PM