PDA

View Full Version : Does an external fuel pump exist, and if so, is it any good?


kna4977
02-19-2007, 08:10 PM
Just wondering if it might be easier and more logical to go with an external fuel pump instead of dropping the tank and switching out the stock pump for the an aftermarket upgrade internal pump? I would appreciate any info/links that anyone has on this. Thankx

Keller
02-19-2007, 08:31 PM
Simple answer: no.

What would you do with the in-tank unit? And if you say "just leave it in there", then you are being foolish. It becomes a restriction. If you say just throw a length of hose in there, then you'd have to drop the tank anyway.

This was all discovered by hundreds of people 10-15 years ago. Its all been discovered before. Now that there are wonderful in-tank units available, just drop the tank and do it right.

PaCemkr86
02-19-2007, 08:36 PM
just drop the tank and do it right.
ditto... :woot:

kna4977
02-19-2007, 09:06 PM
Gotta link to a DIY guide to do it right? thankx

Keller
02-20-2007, 12:23 AM
Yes...on the website. Not hard to find, methinks.

Growing tired of posting the links for you. This is getting just short of me coming over with wrenches and doing it for you.

PaCemkr86
02-20-2007, 12:28 AM
i got it Scott

http://www.gnttype.org/techarea/fuelsystem/fpinstall.html

Keller
02-20-2007, 12:37 AM
I had it up on my screen. Just didn't feel up to changing diapers tonight.

kna4977
02-20-2007, 08:28 AM
I had it up on my screen. Just didn't feel up to changing diapers tonight.

You should have thought about that before you had children...........got a real poopy one with your name all over it..................thanks PaCemkr 86 for posting the requested information without being an a hole.

Overboost
03-04-2007, 08:09 PM
you can use my wrenches if you want to do my car for me.....
I used to run an internal 155 pump in my mustang with an external NOS pump for the nitrous. it was made to not be a restriction when not running, but when you hit the button, pump comes on and shoots PSI to 80...not recommended for running constantly but I hot wired it into my in tank and never had a problem. :lock: I just put that lock there because I never see it used.